Halasana pose (Plow pose). Benefits and Limitations

Standard

Today I would like to share benefits and limitations of the Halasana pose. As I was preparing for my In-Depth Yoga class, I went though so many different yoga schools views on that amazing pose. I fall in love with that pose, after knowing all incredible benefits for our health. Thats the main point of sharing, as you can understand for your own self the importance of the Plow pose))

I will not write the description of how to go to the pose, that you can find in many places on internet, however, if I will get such request, I will do new article about it. However, a picture how to do it, is right there)))

steps-for-how-to-do-halasana

Limitations of the pose:

  • High Blood Pressure
  • Chronic Constipation
  • Sciatica
  • Slipped Disc
  • Do not do during Menstruation
  • Cervical problems
  • Hernia
  • Arthritis of the neck
  • Pregnant women
  • Spondylitis
  • Weak blood vessels in the eyes
  • Diarrhea

Thats the main limitations! Always ask your students about their health before the class, and not after!!!

Its time to know Benefits))

  • Stretch to the back and neck, so nerves get rejuvenation
  • Effective for thyroid and adrenal glands
  • Improves the operation of sympathetic nerves system
  • Increase blood circulation
  • Good for dyspepsia
  • Activates, warms up and lightens the psycho – physiological system
  • Useful for asthma, bronchitis
  • Urinary tract and menstrual disorder
  • Muscles ligaments of thighs and calves gets relaxed and stretched
  • Increases flexibility and feeling of relaxation to legs cramps
  • Makes spinal cord strong and flexible
  • Helps to remove diseases related to hormonal and obesity (Thyroid gland)
  • Useful who are suffering from constipation and gastric problems
  • Helps to remove problems related to Pancreas, Liver and Spine
  • Therapeutic for leg cramps
  • Stimulates thyroid, parathyroid, throat, lungs, abdominal organs
  • Helps relieve gas and upper/ lower back pain or discomfort
  • Promotes good digestion
  • Stretches your shoulder and spine
  • Therapeutic for menopause, infertility, insomnia, headache and sinusitis
  • Relives stress and fatigue
  • Beneficial for diabetic people (should do it regularly)
  • Normalize blood-glucose level
  • Stimulates the reproductive organs
  • Helps women during menopause
  • Strengthens the immune system
  • For women: Due to the compression of the pelvic area it improves the circulation and tone to the reproductive organs, increasing their efficiency.
  • For women: Can help to strengthen the lower back and sacral area, preventing lower back pain during menstruation.
  • Calm the brain
  • Helps nourish the thoracic and lumbar regions of the spine by increasing circulation and suppleness
  • Alleviates the accumulation of phlegm or mucus in the sinuses and respiratory system
  • Gradually assists in lengthening and regulating the breath.
  • The brain is flushed with blood, promoting mental clarity and increased vitality.

Halasana done with attention can induce states of Pratyahara (sense withdrawal), as a preparation for meditation techniques.

Have a nice practice))) and remember that Halasana is such a powerful pose…The “hidden treasure” found in the practice of Halasana is the reason many refer to it as the “Mother of all Asana.

plow-pose

About oksanawd

Namaste, My name is Oksana Wadhawan and I am originally from Kiev, Ukraine. I presently reside in Mumbai, India, with my husband since October, 2014. I started doing Yoga from 2007 in Cyprus. I was reading a lot of literature on meditation and asanas, trying to do home practice. I was lucky enough that I didnt get injured through my home practice. I started learning Yoga from 2009 (Hot Yoga and Iyengar Yoga) in Kiev, Ukraine. After 3 years of learning, I commenced the yoga teacher’s training course in YogaHot Centre, Kiev, Ukraine (2012). I became a certified yoga teacher and began practicing master classes of Iyengar yoga from 2012. My classes were taught by great Iyengar teachers such as Igor Podmazin, Irina Korovina, Oksana Bogush and many others. In 2013 and 2014, I also went on a 7 day Camp to Yoga Institute, Santacruz, Mumbai, India. I studied Ashtanga Yoga with Lesley Fightmaster in 2013-2015. My teaching experience includes 2 years of Hot yoga, 1 year of Ashtanga yoga and 1 year of Restorative Yoga or Yin Yoga. I am regularly attending and practicing Iyengar Yoga since 2009. As a teacher, I conducted a yoga retreat for a month in Kiev, Ukraine (May, 2015) where I shared my daily experience and knowledge with my students on asanas, pranayama and meditation. In August 2015, I did my first retreat in Goa, India. I believe in words of K. Pattabhi Jois "Do your practice and all is coming." Its slowly coming for me! I learn and experience through my body, my emotions, my pain, my enlightenment, what it is Yoga! Yoga is my way of life! And I can show you a way that Yoga can be your way of life as well))) Love and Light!

Leave a Reply

