Yoga Sutra 1.1: Now the study of Yoga begins….

Standard

As I was studying myself Yoga Sutra 1.30 yesterday, the thought came into my mind, that I would like to start Yoga Sutras understanding with the people of the Universe, from the beginning. I am going forth and back with that spectacular book of Patanjali “Yoga Sutras”. Such, a jewel for all the times. When I first time open the book, only now I realize that I opened to early for me, I was not ready!!! I didnt understand a word from it, so I read like a normal book, with so many questions arising in my head…and no answers…even I had teachers of Yoga around me, who were much more experienced than me, and they read the Sutras, they couldnt give any answers…probably, were not ready as well…I will never know..

As they say your Guru will appear when you are ready. My Yoga journey is amazing, everyday I learn something new, I dont put myself as a teacher that know everything, obviously, I dont)))) I think of myself more as a lifetime student, that can share on the journey the knowledge that was received earlier. I am blessed, as Guru really appear to me, when I was ready. To the people who knew to Yoga, guru doesnt take money from you!!! as he believes that Yoga science is for free, and it should be shared with others!

So, Yoga Sutra 1.1    Atha Yoganusasanam

sutra-1-1

Are you ready? Now the study of Yoga begins!

First chapter first sutra. In Samadhi Pada (On Concentration). The pada has 51 sutras and it begins with the understanding of human thought process, which deter us from realizing our true self.

What does it mean? Now yoga begins? For some students it means going to any yoga studio and do asana, maybe pranayama.

Anushasana word means  the systematic presentation of a discipline,  that  in fact, a science.

The word Atha expresses a blessing at the beginning of a duty. Alike Om, Atha marks the authorized and promising opening of a worthy subject.

Atha also means “Now”, to be present, that many philosophies teach us. Whatever you do or want to do, you should do it with the full awareness. And this is highlighted within the Yoga Sutras.  Atha also means to be ready for a commitment that you will take in your personal journey.

To succeed the study of Yoga, you must to be in the present with every cell of your being, because its purpose is a self-discovery, and it can have many footsteps. Teacher will communicate the important Yoga lessons to you when you will be ready at the right time, and if you will have commitment, teacher will appear.

Be ready to take responsibilities…sometimes, commitment fails to meet intention. This is very often the case with the modern society, we want everything but no responsibilities. There is Yoga starts! Commit with all your heart to what you are doing. Be the owner of your life and yourself. Take responsibility. Seek advise from wise people. Learn and experience, by doing, by practice. Yoga is an experiential science.

Ask yourself, why am I doing what I am doing? Why I am doing yoga? Why do I even spend time at it?  Can I commit myself? Am I ready?

You are ready,  step in with two feet, be grounded .  You have to strike a balance between putting up the effort and letting it happen.

“Now the study of Yoga begins” Just few simple words saying you that it’s about being present. Atha Yoganushasanam. Without your full commitment, you won’t succeed.

yoga_sutra_verse_1-1

 

Love and Light!

About oksanawd

Namaste, My name is Oksana Wadhawan and I am originally from Kiev, Ukraine. I presently reside in Mumbai, India, with my husband since October, 2014. I started doing Yoga from 2007 in Cyprus. I was reading a lot of literature on meditation and asanas, trying to do home practice. I was lucky enough that I didnt get injured through my home practice. I started learning Yoga from 2009 (Hot Yoga and Iyengar Yoga) in Kiev, Ukraine. After 3 years of learning, I commenced the yoga teacher’s training course in YogaHot Centre, Kiev, Ukraine (2012). I became a certified yoga teacher and began practicing master classes of Iyengar yoga from 2012. My classes were taught by great Iyengar teachers such as Igor Podmazin, Irina Korovina, Oksana Bogush and many others. In 2013 and 2014, I also went on a 7 day Camp to Yoga Institute, Santacruz, Mumbai, India. I studied Ashtanga Yoga with Lesley Fightmaster in 2013-2015. My teaching experience includes 2 years of Hot yoga, 1 year of Ashtanga yoga and 1 year of Restorative Yoga or Yin Yoga. I am regularly attending and practicing Iyengar Yoga since 2009. As a teacher, I conducted a yoga retreat for a month in Kiev, Ukraine (May, 2015) where I shared my daily experience and knowledge with my students on asanas, pranayama and meditation. In August 2015, I did my first retreat in Goa, India. I believe in words of K. Pattabhi Jois "Do your practice and all is coming." Its slowly coming for me! I learn and experience through my body, my emotions, my pain, my enlightenment, what it is Yoga! Yoga is my way of life! And I can show you a way that Yoga can be your way of life as well))) Love and Light!

Leave a Reply

